No garden? No problem! (Re-)grow your own salad

Regrow romaine lettuce hearts! Since I have no garden and it’s almost winter I heard from a friend to regrow my own salad. What a fantastic idea! 

Save the end of a lettuce and put it into a little water glass. And then wait. Just two days later my lettuce heart started to grow:

(Change the water every 1-2day)

Day 3  
Day 4:

Day 5:

Day 7:


Cut the leaves when you think it has the same size like you bought it at the market. And then, do it all over again!

Did you know there are several veggies that you can re-grow?

Celery, green onions, pineapple (ok it’s a fruit) iceberg, etc….

Fantastic! Still amazes me. Try it!

9 thoughts on “No garden? No problem! (Re-)grow your own salad

  1. I have done this before, but my romaine didn’t grow nearly as quickly. Maybe needed to change the water more often. I do this on a regular basis w/ green onions and once when I had a bulb of garlic that was beginning to sprout I put it in a little water and it got these wonderful green shoots that looked like chives and had a nice mild garlic taste. Great for snipping into salads, eggs, etc. I used to throw bulbs out when I saw they were starting to sprout, but now I keep hoping it will happen. 🙂

    p.s. Thanks for stopping by and liking my post at Self-help Health. I always appreciate when someone takes the time to do that, plus it helps lead me back to what they’re up to, like this neat blog of yours. Love the title!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: DIY – Grow your own salad! | the green transition

Leave a Reply

